Chef Juje

A messy adventure in learning to cook

Zucchini Sticks and Onion Dip (Sans Zucchini)

I was really, really excited to share this recipe for baked zucchini sticks today. I was even a good (fine, improving) food blogger, took lots of pictures for each step along the way and was stockpiling advice for how to make such an excellent veggie dish even better.

I took the zucchini out of the oven, prepared a nice little plate of  vegetables, bit into a zucchini and…

I did not like.

The zucchini, that is. I’m starting to think that I’m not a squash person, given past experience with butternut squash in the fall.  If you’d like to try, by all means go for it and report back.

The onion dip, though,  was FANTASTIC.  I gave up on the zucchini and started eating the onion dip with all sorts of vegetables I could find.  Delicious!

Caramelized Onion Dip

This dip is pretty simple – mayo with caramelized Vidalia onion, natural honey, mustard, cider vinegar. The only tricky part can be caramelizing the onions, and I once again refer you to Simply Recipes for spot-on directions and insight into the process of caramelizing onions. Low and slow, stirring infrequently so as to not inhibit the caramelization.  In fact, I only discovered her instructions in the middle of cooking my dish in a panicked “Mr-Chef-Juje-I-think-the-onions-are-burning!!!!” moment.  Apparently this is a relatively common problem among newbie chefs, as Cooking Light even lists it as one of their “most common cooking mistakes.

What are your tips and tricks for caramelizing onions?  And, for moral support, what do you do when you encounter a recipe dud?

Ingredients:

  • 2 small to medium Vidalia onions
  • 2 tbsp cider vinegar
  • 1 tbsp mustard (I used Dijon)
  • 2 tbsp natural honey
  • 1 tbsp butter (for onions)
  • 1 cup mayo (Greek yogurt can be substituted)
  • tiny bit of sugar (to aid caramelizing process)

Directions:

  1. Caramelize Onions.  Heat 1 tbsp butter, add sliced onions, keep on low to medium low, stirring occasionally, until onions brown.  Add a tiny bit of sugar if you would like.
  2. Add onions, vinegar, mustard, honey and mayo/Greek yogurt into food processor and blend.
  3. Refrigerate until ready to serve.
Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Zucchini Sticks and Onion Dip (Sans Zucchini)

  1. You’re bound to have a dud now and again. I’ll never forget the Indian Mac & Cheese debacle I had from a really awesome sounding, but horribly tasting recipe. Never again. Never. Again. Just make up for it by making something you know you love next time.

    • Chef Juje on said:

      Too funny, the Mac-and-Cheese debacle. Glad it happens to the best of us and that overcoming the fail is possible. 🙂

  2. That looks so yummy and score for me I even like zuchinni and squash! Did you use the mayo or yogurt in the dip?

    • Chef Juje on said:

      It probably would be good for zucchini-lovers as most people rated it pretty highly on the original site. I used mayo but seems like others have used Greek yogurt successfully. I had mayo and didn’t have yogurt. If you use yogurt let me know how it goes!

  3. I’ve used brown sugar to carmelize onions,
    too. Yum!

Leave a Reply

