Chef Juje

A messy adventure in learning to cook

Swiss Cheese Bread

Last week I found myself leftover good-quality Swiss cheese from both a successful attempt at cheese twists and a completely failed attempt at butternut squash soup.

I find myself in this predicament quite frequently as a newbie chef. I’m constantly torn by the desire to reduce waste and save cash AND the desire to create deliciousness. I am sure that one day those goals will not be at odds with each other and that I’ll be able to whip up meals using exactly what I have in my pantry and fridge. Until then, though, I find myself searching “recipes that use Swiss cheese” only to find hundreds of recipes that require a zillion additional ingredients I don’t have or equipment I don’t own.

Finally I stumbled on this recipe for Swiss Cheese and poppy seed bread from Rouxbe. Fresh French bread and a compound butter make this an easy and unusual treat. The recipe below features much less butter than the original recipe and real Swiss cheese, but feel free to try it their way and compare!

Ingredients:
1 loaf french bread
8 to 10 slices swiss cheese
1/4 cup green onions, finely sliced
1/2 tbsp mustard powder
1/2 tbsp poppy seeds
1 stick butter, room temperature
salt, to taste

Directions:
1.) Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees F.
2.) Make the compound butter – last five ingredients well
3.) Slice the french bread into 1 inch slices. Don’t cut all the way through- leave the bottom in tact.
4.) Slice cheese into triangles or small squares. It should fit inside of the slices of bread.
5.) Spread the butter mixture in between each of the slices. In this recipe, use the butter liberally to ensure rich flavor. If you follow the original recipe, you may have extra butter left over.
6.) Wrap the loaf tightly in foil. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until cheese melts. Serve.

Helpful hints/What I’ve learned:
Compound butter – Compound butter is basically butter that’s mixed with other ingredients (in this case, mustard powder and poppy seeds) to enhance flavor of a dish. I look forward to trying out a compound butter with garlic or other spices.

Serve and eat immediately – This was very unsuccessful re-heated in the microwave. Perhaps re-baking would have been better. Ideally, though, eat it right away.

Source: Rouxbe

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

